Reviews

Read What People Are Saying
I had been following a plant based diet for a couple of years now and I needed more variety. I was getting bored with food and with that I started not getting the nutritional intake that I should have been. With this course I feel like I had a jump start in a new direction and I felt excited to try new flavors and recipes. I also loved learning about nutrients and what best serves my body while following a plant based diet.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Annessa D.
December 4, 2018
It was a good experience.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Charlene S.
December 3, 2018
I have loved this Rouxbe course and learned SO much! It exceeded my expectations. I'm really eager and excited to keep working on all I've learned and continue trying new things. I have so much more confidence with new skills to move forward. I have recommended this course to many people and have only the best things to say. The support has been fantastic in my case as I've struggled to recover from 2 heart attacks, not long after starting the course, and now live with a rare heart condition. (Plant-based likely saved my life with what could have been significantly worse according to my doctors!) I can't thank you enough for working with me to continue with the course and be able to complete it. You have been incredibly patient and understanding. When I recover more fully, I hope to take more courses.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Deborah L.
November 27, 2018
ROUXBE is a very good way to learn to cook, is clear, simple and practice. I’ve significantly improved my culinary skills and my dishes taste fantastic: I’m surprised of what I’m capable to cook after my ROUXBE course.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Sandra V.
November 23, 2018
I've really enjoyed the course. Personally I would have liked more time to complete it, but that's my own fault regarding time management. I already embrace a plant-based lifestyle but this has definitely added to my knowledge around cooking in general, how to put together meals myself, and do things properly (i.e. proper knife techniques, and preparing a mis en place.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Holly G.
November 15, 2018
Rouxbe has made me feel more confident in the kitchen and has taught me skills regarding cooking that I didn't have before, like knife skills. Writing about my dishes and having to describe them in detail has also helped me think about food in a different way. As a personal home cook, Rouxbe has been a good start off point to becoming a professional chef. Next I'd like to have some experience in a professional kitchen in a restaurant or at an in-person cooking school.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Ana H.
November 13, 2018
I loved it and was very pleasantly surprised at some of the menu options ( even tho I am not a big soy fan on principle, the chocolate tofu pie was amazing, lol) As above, my husband and I have already dramatically increased our percentage of a plant based diet over the last few years and we love the flavors and also feel more and more responsible for the effect of an animal based diet on the planet. Slowly but surely. And we invite friends to share and experience the flavors of the dishes I prepare and they are always impressed as well! thank you for the opportunity!

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Judy P.
November 9, 2018
Rouxbe has created a program that is easy to navigate, is full of information and support, and provides the foundation needed to jump start into a deeper understanding of plant-based the culinary world. This program has met and exceeded my expectations and I feel more confident and have a firm foundation for future culinary endeavors. Online learning really is what you put into it. If you want to skip over things and put half effort in, you certainly can, but to really get the full experience- digging deep, asking questions, and putting the hours in makes ALL the difference!

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Kelly H.
November 6, 2018
Rouxbe has helped make cooking more enjoyable by immensely improving my kitchen across the board.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Joanne O.
November 4, 2018
Rouxbe has definitely provided me with more confidence and skills needed to improve my plant-based cooking skills. I would like to start a plant-based pop up restaurant and without what I have learned here in Rouxbe, I wouldn't have the skills or confidence to do that.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Hope N.
October 26, 2018
Rouxbe has given me the confidence to embrace my passion. I am beginning a website directed at mentoring people with cancer and the desire to improve their health by going plant based.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Michael W.
October 11, 2018
Became a plant based person in Forks Over Knives and continued my growth with this course. Not sure what I'll do next, but I'm sure I'll be back.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Nancy S.
October 9, 2018
This was course was amazing! I'm so please with what I've learned and I am looking forward to learning more about these topics. I've told friends and family and I know they are also interested in learning more. I know my kids are happy with all the fun and delicious foods I'm making. I'm not timid in the kitchen anymore and I love experimenting! 

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Deborah K.
October 8, 2018
As I finish the Rouxbe professional course I am very pleased at the results and accomplishments these last 6 months. My knowledge in the kitchen has been expanded beyond my wildest dreams and I feel like I've been given the confidence to tackle any recipe and the skill to make it my own. This course was my first introduction to plant based diets and I look forward to implementing the many recipes and to provide a healthy easting lifestyle to my family for years to come.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
John N.
October 6, 2018
Rouxbe has opened up so many possibilities for me in the kitchen and in my culinary career. I feel like i learned a lot of essentials in the plant based kitchen that i can build off of as i practice more and develop as a chef. 

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Jessica P.
October 4, 2018
I had a lot of fun. I ate more whole foods than I normally would. I signed up for the Rouxbe Desserts course that starts about a month after this one finishes. I like the idea of maybe opening some sort of vegan food eatery some day. I don't know, we'll see.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Christina B.
October 3, 2018
I love the fact that Rouxbe have showed me so many nice recipes . And have kickstarted my adventure in the raw kitchen. Thank you for that . 

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Pernille R.
October 2, 2018
This was a great course and I have learned a lot - from knife skills to cooking techniques. I feel more confident in cooking without a recipe.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Kathlynn G.
September 27, 2018
I was overall very pleased with the course and I enjoyed most of the material and the recipes and learning all sorts of different plant based alternatives for common foods. I also feel like it is quite thorough for some basic cooking methods which is very nice as well however, personally believe that it shouldn't cost so much to get an extension or be that hard to ask to be put on hold with the course. Sometimes things come up and with this being a work at your own pace type of course that many people try to tackle while also working full-time it was difficult for me to finish in time. Some of the assignments took a lot of planning and then shopping and preparing etc so it got to be pretty time consuming which is fine but I had to get an extension which cost me almost $300 CAD and then still had a hard time finishing in time again so I am sacrificing marks because I don't want to pay another $130 US to get another month extension.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Cara M.
September 25, 2018
Rouxbe has broadened by ability to create and present delicious and beautiful plant-based appetizers, main dishes and desserts. This course provided a solid foundation and inspiration for me as I build flavor profiles in the whole-food, plant-based meals I prepare for my clients seeking to heal their bodies with food. Many thanks Rouxbe!

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Karen L.
September 19, 2018
Learned so much about plant based cooking. Great experience.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Jorge H.
September 14, 2018
Rouxbe has helped me being more confident; I do not feel like I have pro cooking skills, but I guess this depends on the motivation. For me, I know I will probably never be a master at garnishing because I do not really care for it. But I do have another sense of what might be a good combination and I think I'm more spontaneous during cooking, and more confident in deviating from a recipe or even cooking without one, although I still prefer to cook with recipes.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Nicole M.
September 11, 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed Rouxbe. I wish the class was available for a 1-year period, not a 6-month period. It was a difficult balance for me during the summer when I'm busy with kids home from school and a business to run. I know I could have started at a different time, still 1 year would have been nice.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Bill W.
September 9, 2018
Rouxbe has helped me given me the confidence I needed in the kitchen. So far, I have only used the knowledge I have learned for my personal use - but I have ambitions to incorporate these skills into my future profession.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Rachel M.
September 5, 2018
The Rouxbe course has allowed me first to get better skills in cooking basics : knifes techniques, cooking techniques, pantry organisation etc. Then learning the flavor combinations, and how to elaborate a recipe make a total change to my everyday cooking. It has allowed me to think of integrating plant based cooking professionally in a near future.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Catherine F.
August 29, 2018
Yes, I wanted Rouxbe to give me confidence in entertaining non-vegan friends and family and it has done that. I enjoyed the Plant-Based Pro and Essential Vegan Desserts courses tremendously.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
David C.
August 22, 2018
Rouxbe has given me the confidence to cook flavorful, healthy meals for my family with whatever ingredients I happen to have in my fridge/pantry. It my have taken 40 years, but I can finally say that I'm a good cook!

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Antigoni G.
August 19, 2018
Rouxbe has helped me to better understand cooking in general, and has helped me gain confidence in sharing my knowledge about cooking and sharing the food I create. I am beginning to offer plant-based alternatives for local events particularly for rural farming families for whom plant-based cuisine is often seen as countercultural and may be looked at with suspicion. I have enjoyed being vegan for 9 years, and in the past 7 months have grown to enjoy being vegan much, much more.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Terese S.
August 9, 2018
It has given me more confidence and less stress in the kitchen and trying to decide what to cook.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Jody O.
December 4, 2018
Thank you Rouxbe! I learned a great deal and happy I got to be apart of this experience. I feel more comfortable in the kitchen and has really helped my plant based lifestyle.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Troy D.
November 29, 2018
I would not recommend PB Pro, but I would recommend other Rouxbe courses such as Culinary Rx and/or PB Level 1. I loved the intensity of PB Pro, but someone simply looking to acquire some PB cooking knowledge night not.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? No.
Christi C.
November 25, 2018
When I started the course, I had only been vegetarian for a few months. I tried some meal delivery services to expand my knowledge of cooking plant-based, but found that there was a lot of carbs and not much healthy, nutritious variety. Because of Rouxbe, I now have the skills to make those plant-based meals myself and have more sense of awareness when it comes to reading labels and ingredients. The course has made me actually transition to vegan now because I can make these dishes without sacrificing flavor or nutrition.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Mabel R.
November 24, 2018
I loved the course. I enjoyed each activity and learning experience. 
 
Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Johanna M.
November 19, 2018
Overall experience was positive. Value for money. I did a previous course,similar to this one through another online cooking school for more than three times your price.
 
Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Carl P.
November 13, 2018
Rouxbe has taught me to understand the science behind cooking. I am a very intuitive cook, but now I feel I understand the process that leads to a successful dish. Thank you to all instructors and everybody involved in Rouxbe! Special shout out to Lauren for always giving such awesome encouraging & enthusiastic feedback!
 
Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Shanti P.
November 9, 2018
Loved the course and look forward to being able to continue going back through the lessons at my leisure. Really enjoyed the format and felt that Rouxbe does a great job of explaining and demonstrating. I feel better prepared to not only cook good plant based food for myself but for others as well. 
 
Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Jacquenette M.
November 7, 2018
It's been a great experience, but I wish the course extension fee is not so steep. Many of us are transitioning to this new profession while holding on to a full time job. Life could be so hectic and getting the course done in time could be challenging. 
  
Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Ariel B. 
November 6, 2018
Loved this class. I took the Forks Over Knives class first. I was so sad when that one was done that I signed up for this one. Once again, I am sad it is ending. I have learned so much and greatly enjoyed expanding my horizons in the kitchen. Wish I had had even more time to explore every little detail of the course, like the live chats. I know for sure that I could not have learned as much as I did without this course. I knew I had to keep making progress to finish on time therefore I kept at it each week. My family loved all of the new flavors coming out of the kitchen. My son has a ton of allergies. One of my motivations was to learn new techniques so I could make him more foods he can eat. Now when I am cooking I can confidently make substitutions. I have even started inventing a few recipes of my own. Our family now eats so well and we all feel so healthy. Thank you!
  
Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Alison M. 
November 3, 2018
My family is slowly appreciating Vegan cuisine. Leaving Dairy and meat is difficult for them, they are off dairy for starts. I have enjoyed the course. I have been able to alter most recipes available online/books to make them vegan and that has been very helpful for feeding my family. Giving them a healthy and tasty option.
  
Would I recommend this course to a friend? No.
Janhavi C. 
October 22, 2018
Rouxbe has definitely expanded my knowledge on plant based cooking. I feel more confident in the kitchen and better understand the how to build a recipe. I can now cook beautiful and flavorful meals for my family and friends. 
   
Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Amanda B.
October 10, 2018
The Rouxbe course has given me the tools and confidence to continue to explore my curiosity of the world of plant-based food. I'm looking forward to refining my skills and enjoying every bite!
   
Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Carrie L.
October 8, 2018
First of all, I want to thank you for such a supportive platform. I appreciated the honesty of the instructors. The feedback was instructive and encouraging. I am not a professional chef. I took this course for two reasons -- 1. to return to a plant-based diet with more confidence and tools and 2. to be able to provide accurate information/instruction and encouraging words to my patients as they make lifestyle changes. Eventually, I would like to be able to work with several other physicians in my group to provide group appointments that will include nutritional instruction, lifestyle changes for all patients but especially those with diabetes, heart disease, depression, arthritis, etc, and interactive cooking instruction. I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Thank you so much!!
   
Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Susan C.
October 6, 2018
Personally, I was following a plant based cuisine. Prior to the course I was not aware of things that I did not know. The course opened windows never thought possible. Even more, during the course, dishes that were prepared following base knowledge, received very good feedback and terms like "exquisite". I can say that completing the course, besides giving me confidence in cooking, new horizons of flavours and aroma were unleashed. 
    
Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Remus N.
October 4, 2018
I really have enjoyed these courses and have learned an awful lot not just about plant based cooking but also fundamental cooking basics as well.
    
Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Kate V.
October 3, 2018
I completely loved this course and the confidence it has given me in the plant based kitchen. I am going to use my skills to start a consulting/coaching/personal chef business (and a vegan food blog). This course was everything I had hoped and more and I am just sorry I am almost done!
    
Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Jennifer M.
October 3, 2018
Rouxbe has been an incredible learning experience. I feel more confident in the kitchen as a home cook, and now I want to follow my passion, and pursue a career in the restaurant industry.
    
Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Analyn M.
October 1, 2018
Rouxbe made me more comfortable in the kitchen and learning many things that i kinda knew already but wasnt really too knowledgeable off . Im the only one in my family that adapted plant based cooking so has been a learning experience.    
Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Erika A.
September 27, 2018
I took the course to learn to cook vegan so I stayed vegan, and I have learnt to cook, I can create my own recipes with what I have available in the fridge and follow other recipes easily using the techniques I have gained, and I am still vegan.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Tara H.
September 23, 2018
I was skeptical at the beginning of the course, but even if as a professional chef i've been trough a lot of techniques before it has been good to remember and revise some of them. Yes i'm embracing more of a plant-based lifestyle since then, and i hope i'll have more opportunities in my career now, with this certification.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Benoit C.
September 21, 2018
I loved the course. I have always loved cooking and know my way round my home kitchen, but this course has given me a strong foundation to whip up different dishes and take the cooking to the next level. Possibly even professionally. A big thank you to all instructors. Your constructive and positive commentaries when grading has given me support in my journey and made me feel "part of a class" even though I was working alone in the physical space !

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Camilla H.
September 17, 2018
The course was organized, methodical, hierarchical, user friendly and filled with all types of activities and information. I loved the course. I will utilize this information and continue on my plant based journey to become a healthier and even more knowledgeable cook. Thank you so much! It was an awesome experience!

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Joan D.
September 10, 2018
The Rouxbe course has significantly impacted my confidence level in the kitchen and my belief in my ability to create amazing tasting and healthful dishes without such a heavy reliance on recipes

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Kristen D.
September 7, 2018
Rouxbe has given me a detailed understanding of how to build recipes, cooking techniques and the importance of exploring ideas outside one's comfort level.

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Terese N.
September 4, 2018
Rouxbe kicked my plant-based cooking style into full gear with its excellent course outline, recipes, and instructors! Rouxbe has helped me transform from a know-a-few-of-the-basics cook into a much more knowledgable chef! It's truly an amazing course -- one that isn't easy -- but one that is really worth taking! After all, nothing worthwhile is easy! But the Rouxbe Plant-Based Pro Course is most definitely rewarding and is very worthwhile. I am a much better cook now than I was a few months ago! Thank you Rouxbe! And my many thanks to all of the instructors whose various comments helped form my way!

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Rich W.
August 8, 2018
I am able to follow chefs instructions on tv shows. I know what they are talking about, watch their techniques and apply that information to my own cooking. With this new information, I just don't watch any cooking tv show or follow any cooking website anymore. Now I am more capable of knowing who is there for my money and who really cares about his audience. 

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Miguel V.
August 29, 2018
Taking this course has increased my passion for cooking and increased my confidence in the kitchen. Having the ranking and the grades pages on the site, kept me on my toes and competitive. I am without a doubt so grateful for this experience. I would do it again in a heartbeat. What a brilliant concept. Being held accountable for the learning with tests and dish submittals is really the best way to learn. I'm so excited to have this certification and my family is grateful for my new set of skills. A heartfelt thank you to all the chefs for your support. 

Would I recommend this course to a friend? Yes.
Melanie P.
August 13, 2018